• Please review the updated member agreement. Included is a new statement supporting the scientific method and evidence-based medicine. Claims or statements about disease processes should reference widely accepted scientific resources. Theoretical medical speculation is encouraged as part of the overall scientific process. However, unscientific statements that promote unfounded ideological positions or agendas may be removed.

Lollerask

2+ Year Member
Aug 19, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello, first time posting. Need advice on school list and next steps to go from here. Here are my stats:

UF undergrad with Biochemistry major, Florida resident, Asian, 1st generation in US in my family
cGPA: 3.85
sGPA: 3.80
MCAT: Total 508 (Chem: 130, CARS: 123 (ouch), Bio: 128, P/S: 127) (Taken in July 2015)

I have taken my last MCAT three years ago, with verbal at 6 and retake at 8. Three years later, remaining sections improved this MCAT. I graduated from UF in August 2012, and took up paramedic full-time. I understand my CARS is extremely terrible, but I still want to push for MD and DO schools this cycle. I really hope to not retake the MCAT if possible.

Experience:
-1+ years as ER tech at a hospital as a paramedic (current full time position)
-2 years as an EMT-Basic (Ambulance)
-2 years of Paramedic fire/clinical externships
-Shadowed ER doctor (about 20 hrs total)
-2.5 years of clinical research with poster presentation at a conference (first author), multiple research projects and leadership experience working in a professional group, no manuscript or publications. Also served as nutritional consultants under the PI to pediatric patients (our research population)(patient interaction).
-Shadowed Cardiology doctor (about 50 hrs total)
-Volunteered at hospital's outpatient clinic (1 year)

MD School list: (All 7 state [FL] schools)
UF
USF
FSU
FIU
FAU
UCF
UM
Albany (NY)
Rosalind Franklin
Creighton
Eastern Virginia
Rush
Commonwealth (Penn.)
Virginia Commonwealth
West Virginia