Account on Hold
Aug 30, 2017
Status
Medical Student
A bit late to ask this. So the date is as below:

COMLEX level 1: 510
USMLE step 1: 224
COMLEX PE: passed at first attempt
COMLEX level 2: pending (will take very soon)
(No USMLE step 2 taken)
-LORs: 1 from IM attending in Hackensack NJ, 2 from chief cardiologists at big teaching hospitals (Jacobi/Good Sam NY), 1 pending from an private anesthesiologist.
-Very light research experience, no publication, no extraordinary work/volunteer experience except community service.
-3.1 GPA pre-clinically, 3.6 on 3rd year clerkships (6 A's +5 B's)

Before that I always want to apply for IM and thought this as the only residency I'll apply. However a rotation in anesthesia really made me consider the possibility of anesthesia. I'm a procedure guy and like working in OR assisting the surgeons, and anesthesia does have good life pace.

I'm an international student at DO school so visa issue will limit me.

Honestly I don't have a specific reason to take gas over IM, both work to me. The step 1 score I have at the lower side, plus the immigration status limitation, worries me. Should I consider applying for it???

Rekt

2+ Year Member
May 29, 2015
Status
Resident [Any Field]
A bit late to ask this. So the date is as below:

COMLEX level 1: 510
USMLE step 1: 224
COMLEX PE: passed at first attempt
COMLEX level 2: pending (will take very soon)
(No USMLE step 2 taken)
-LORs: 1 from IM attending in Hackensack NJ, 2 from chief cardiologists at big teaching hospitals (Jacobi/Good Sam NY), 1 pending from an private anesthesiologist.
-Very light research experience, no publication, no extraordinary work/volunteer experience except community service.
-3.1 GPA pre-clinically, 3.6 on 3rd year clerkships (6 A's +5 B's)