Chance Me!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aggie261

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Texas A&M University Student currently. I will be graduating next fall and will be applying next cycle. Seeing all the stats here on SDN kinda has me worried and I am looking for reassurance that I still have a shot at dental school!

I am a Texas resident. My first choice school is Texas A&M Dental in Dallas.

Science Grades (my biggest concern as my first two years were not the greatest):
1st Semester:
Gen. Chem 1: A
Lab: B

2nd Semester:
Gen. Chem 2: C

3rd Semester:
Bio 1 w/ lab: A
Ochem 1: B and lab was also B

4th Semester:
Bio 2 w/ lab: B
Ochem 2: B and lab was also a B

Summer:
Physics 1: A (community college)

5th Semester:
Genetics w/ lab: A
Biochem 1: A

6th (current) Semester:
Microbiology: anticipate an A
Biochem 2: also anticipating an A
I am trying super hard this semester to keep up the 4.0 trend from last semester!

7th (next and final) Semester:
Physics 2: -
A&P: -

So current science GPA is a 3.5 I believe with my two math classes. Overall is around a 3.7. I am hoping the upward trend from last semester and hopefully this semester is noticed and helps!

DAT: 21 AA (no section under 18)

I have a few extracurriculars:
-Pre-Dental
-MSA club
-horse back riding lessons
-I do henna and I am not sure if that counts towards manual dexterity. People are telling me mixed things on that.
-Volunteering at a Elementary School for 3 semesters now

Over 100 shadowing hours.

All these 3.8+ applicants are kinda freaking me out so please shed some light on what you think my chances are and what I should do to boost my chances, if theres anything I can do at this point at all!

Members don't see this ad.