%chance of getting accepted to UIC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asim419

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys, i'm an illinois resident and go to school at the university of illinois at urbana-champaign. I was wondering if someone can help me out on what my chances may be on getting accepted the university of illinois at chicago dental school? it's my first choice. my stats are:

gpa:3.2
science gpa: about 3.0
dat academic: 16
retaking dat on nov. 6
and i have all the extra stuff like shadowing, volunteering, research.

any help would ge appreciated.
thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Asim,

Being an Illinois resident will help, and from what i've read, UIC likes UIUC students. Your gpa might be a little on the low end for UIC, but if you really rock the DAT 20+ style, you should be ok, assuming that your ec's are really strong..letters...etc. You might also think about applying to SIU if you are from southern illinois, it seems like a very strong school as well. Good luck.

Your stats are on par.

But your DAT will negatively stand out because nowadays scores of even an 18 are very rare.

Scores of 20 are already common, as the exam is not really that difficult.

Apply to 'weaker' dental schools, so that if you get into one of these and get rejected by Illinois, you can then at least attempt a transfer.

Members don't see this ad :)
hey slave4md, I'm curious as to where you got your information that "scores of 20 are already common." Thats funny you say that, because I have information that the average student accepted at UIC has somewhere around an 18 on the DATs. Where do you get off saying the "exam is really not that difficult" as well? Different people have different backgrounds. Perhaps someone who has a non-science major and only took the required science classes would not find the test as easy as you.