Oct 2, 2014
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a WV resident, biochemistry student and I will be applying the next upcoming app cycle. But first, let me tell a little about my story. I came into college as an exercise physiology major, did not particularly care for the major so I switched to biology going into my sophomore year. Towards the end of my sophomore year I decided to switch to biochemistry entering my junior year. My freshman year I managed a pitiful 2.55 GPA. Since then I have had a strong upward trend in GPA, with A's in several upper level bio and chem classes and studied like crazy to get a 35 MCAT.

I have an interesting personal story (that I won't go to in depth on here) that was to blame for my poor freshman and first half of sophomore year performance.

My ECs contain:
-2 years working as a scribe in Emergency Dept
-Countless hours of Emergency Medicine shadowing from scribing
-100 hours Family Medicine shadowing
-50 hours Radiology shadowing
-2 years working as lead summer camp counselor
-50 hours Emergency Dept volunteering
-Countless hours bell ringing for Salvation Army during Christmas seasons and serving in soup kitchen
-2 years high school baseball and football referee
-2 years tutoring high school AP biology, chemistry, calculus
-1 year Little League baseball coach
-2 years chair of Health and Safety of my university's fishing club
As you can see my ECs are all over the place. I plan on applying to WVU and Marshall University (my state schools.) I was curious as to whether I would have a shot this upcoming cycle, or should I wait on applying and do a 1 year SMP here at WVU. Also didn't know if there are any other MD schools I would have a shot at with my stats. Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Goro

7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
GPAs a re not competitive for the two MD schools in WVa and all other states, You'd be fine at the WVSOM and any other DO school.

OP
Mountaineer23