Chances Anesthesia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kuyaaa09

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year DO student and very interested in Anesthesia. I rank in the upper 10% of my class after second year. I scored 570 in COMLEX 1. I had a research duding the summer of my freshman year. No USMLE yet. What are my chances in Anesthesia? Do I need to take USMLE?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a third year DO student and very interested in Anesthesia. I rank in the upper 10% of my class after second year. I scored 570 in COMLEX 1. I had a research duding the summer of my freshman year. No USMLE yet. What are my chances in Anesthesia? Do I need to take USMLE?

Take USMLE

Also, take a look at the Anesthesia forum and look for the "Application thread" for last two yrs.

Source: Current Anesthesia applicant

Reactions: 1 user
AOA anesthesia should be no problem. Only take USMLE if you feel confident

Members don't see this ad :)
AOA anesthesia should be no problem. Only take USMLE if you feel confident

AOA anesthesia won't be a thing in a few years. Not sure many of the current programs will apply for Osteopathic Recognition when there's nothing "osteopathic" about the anesthesia specialty. If you want to be competitive, take USMLE. Sure, most programs "take" COMLEX, but they don't know how to use it to compare to other applicants when most (if not all of them) are submitting USMLE scores with their apps. As a DO applicant, you have to do everything possible to highlight your app among the mound of MD applicants. Not having a USMLE score sure highlights your app, but not in a good way.

Reactions: 3 users