Chances for ACGME residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phantomrcr16

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have lurked these forums for quite a few years but never posted much. I would like honest opinions for my situation here.

I am a fourth year DO student applying to ACGME anesthesia programs this cycle. I am applying to 55-60 programs. First two years, middle of the road class rank, no red flags, no failures ever. Took COMLEX level 1, scored 531. Signed up and was completely prepared to take USMLE Step 1 and had a family member commit suicide a couple of days prior to the exam and I was simply no longer mentally ready to take it. I skipped my exam. I knew this would create an uphill battle for me, but figured it was better than risking a failure or very low score at the time.

Moved onto clinical rotations, did very well, honored internal medicine, family medicine, and surgery NBME shelf exams (school bases grades totally off of shelf exam scores, preceptor evaluations count for nothing). Took COMLEX Level 2, scored 587. Took USMLE Step 2, scored 238. Captain in the Army National Guard, strong research background, a couple of international research presentations, and all the typical other jazz that most folks have.

The programs that I have selected to apply to routinely match DOs. I am not trying to match at a top tier program, I simply want quality training that will allow me to be an excellent anesthesiologist, most likely in a community based hospital.