Chances for California Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorCopper

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not a science major, but these are the prerequsisites I have, or will have, completed by application:

1 yr General Chemistry; 1 yr Organic Chemistry; 1 yr Biology; 1 yr Physics; 1 semester biochem; 1 class statistics; 1 semester Calculus

I am planning on applying to California schools (Davis, UCSF, Stanford, UCSD, Irvine). I currently have a 4.0 gpa, plan on ending with a 3.7+. Going to take MCAT in the summer. Let's just say I do a little bit better than average.

I am an EMT, and will be working for a hospital as a tech in the next couple of months.

I've been working for a health club for 2 years and an elementary/junior high school for 3 years.

What do you think my chances are for these schools? --->Davis, UCSF, Stanford, UCSD, Irvine

Members don't see this ad.

Don't plan on 3.7...keep aiming for 4.0. For schools like UCSD/UCLA/UCSF you need top notch scores, especially UCSD. Aim for 32+ on MCATs, with no section score less than 10. You have good clinical experience as a EMT. The club is ok, but it matters very little unless you hold some leadership position. Do some research as well. Also california schools really like applicants that have a tremendous amount of volunteer work or some humantarian experience (studying abroad, working at a free clinic....). Aside from that u seem like ur in good shape.