Chances for Chicago Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mgitms786

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Chicago resident, what are my chaces of getting into: Stritch school of medicine, rush, rosalind franklin, midwestern (I guess in case I don't get into MD) and northwestern.

By the time I apply:

BCBM GPA: 3.517
Non-science: 3.93
cGPA: 3.693

Haven't taken the MCAT yet, but plan on shooting for 30+

Extra Curricular:
EMT-B, volunteer at free clinic taking vitals, history, etc (50 hrs by the time I apply)
Shadowing at a clinic (50 hrs)
Volunteering at Nursing home (50 hrs)
AMSA local & National
Other various community service work through school and by self

The thing is, I haven't had any sort of research experience. Also, should I try to shadow more? And for shadowing, how long am I suppose to shadow one physician, or is it better to have a variety of different physicians?

Advice to become a stronger applicant? Any help is appreciated!

P.S. If I take the MCAT in June, will I be at a disatvantage? Because I know the earlier you apply, the more beneficial it is because of rolling admissions. So what would be the difference if I took it in May vs. June?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a Chicago resident, what are my chaces of getting into: Stritch school of medicine, rush, rosalind franklin, midwestern (I guess in case I don't get into MD) and northwestern.

By the time I apply:

BCBM GPA: 3.517
Non-science: 3.93
cGPA: 3.693

Haven't taken the MCAT yet, but plan on shooting for 30+

Extra Curricular:
EMT-B, volunteer at free clinic taking vitals, history, etc (50 hrs by the time I apply)
Shadowing at a clinic (50 hrs)
Volunteering at Nursing home (50 hrs)
AMSA local & National
Other various community service work through school and by self