Chances for someone with cGPA 3.58, sGPA 3.4, 512 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What is my chance of getting into any medical school?

• Dark...really dark.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Erised Moon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a pre-med student, and I'M STRESSED THE HELL OUT. I'm staying optimistic about my chances of getting into any medical school, but I feel that my stats are pretty flimsy compared to the rest of the stellar M.D. application pool. But here's my story anyway. I would be very grateful for any advice or remarks about my chances. I'm good at taking criticism, so bash away! Feel free to be brutally honest.

THE COLD HARD FACTS

uGPA: 3.6
sGPA: 3.4-ish
MCAT: practice scores around 30 (old scale). Confident that I will get it to 35 or higher if it's the last thing I do!
Research:
I worked at two different labs during my last two years of college, one of them an NSF-funded project. I left these projects since they weren't in areas of interest to me. Then I found my area of interest (developmental biology) and I'm currently working as a lab technician in a prestigious lab for the past two gap years with an independent project; no hope of publication though (they're stingy in that way).
Clinical:
I started volunteering recently and will probably get 200-300 hours in the next few months or so. (Is that enough?) I will also shadow a physician extensively for a LOR soon.
Extracurriculars:
Lots of piano and violin volunteering, performance work, awards in music from my college; hired piano teacher this past year; volunteering at girls' juvenile detention as a tutor and book club member this past year; museum tour guide to school and adult groups for three years during college; independent T.A. for organic chemistry, piano, violin; orchestra and chamber ensembles;

Explanation