Chances - help please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

njdancemed

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am new to SDN but I have heard good things and I need a little help with a list of MD and DO school to apply to. My application for MD is already verified and my DO application will be submitted this week but I am looking for some advice on what school to apply to.

For a little background: I graduated undergrad in 2013. I had a 3.27 CGPA and a 3.11 SGPA. I was a double major in Biology and East Asian Studies. I speak almost fluent Mandarin and I spent a year studying and living in China. While there I was also able to intern at a traditional Chinese medicine hospital. After graduating I worked at a non-medical related job. I also volunteered in my local hospital and did clinical work with two physicians. I am current in a SMP. As a graduate student I have a 3.8 GPA (99% of which counts as science GPA). I am also very involved at my school. I took the MCAT twice in 2013. I made the mistake of taking them only a month apart and I was not ready to take either, but I can't go back and change that now. I received a 24 on both of them. I took the recent June 18th MCAT, a particularly difficult form of the exam, and although I felt prepared I received a 504 (124/127/127/126). This was very upsetting especially since I had gotten a 515 on the scored practice exam and an 81% on the unscored exam. I am studying to retake the MCAT but in the mean time I am hoping that some of the people on here can give me some advice on what school I should be submitting my application to. I am looking for both MD and DO schools and any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Don't bother retaking the MCAT. I believe that you're plateaued and you're not going to do any better. Your best chances will be with the NJ med schools (MD and DO).