tabbycatdontcur

pharmacy world →medical word
May 19, 2014
Status
Medical Student
I am a SC resident, but am going to school in TN currently.

BS in chemistry.

UG c3.19 | s3.31

pharmacy school 3.62 (P1 year)
(currently a P2)

MCAT verbal 7 | biological 9 | physical 10

• Have a DO letter of recommendation and 60 hours shadowing.
  • Have been published in a science journal.
  • Volunteered 500 hours at a low-income center for kids and lived in the neighborhood for a year. Also chaperoned 3 different week long trips and mentored kids outside of the center through our community garden, activities, etc.
  • Random: I would really like to work as a medical relief physician, which is a lot of what my personal statement was about. Dad is a chiropractor so I related that to holistic medicine in my secondaries.
  • All other activities probably not worth mentioning, but I can if needed.

Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-VA, SC, AL campuses
Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine-GA campus
Liberty University College of Osteopathic Medicine
University of Pikeville Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine
Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine
William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine

Really would appreciate it if anyone has good advice or recommendations!

Last edited:

SkipJunior

I'm Your Butler
Account on Hold
Aug 19, 2014
Lior, Amastris
Status
Pre-Medical
your uGPA is low and your MCAT score is slightly below average for DO matriculants but I think you have a shot, especially at the new low tier DO schools. Campbell has a hard 3.2 GPA cutoff so I would contact them and verify your eligibility before applying.

You should also apply to Marian, Rocky Vista, and West Virginia-SOM to improve your chances. I hope you have submitted all your secondaries.

OP
tabbycatdontcur

tabbycatdontcur

May 19, 2014
Status
Medical Student