Chances of anesthesia/FM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

img-2017

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello everyone,

I am an IMG whose situation is a little different from the majority.

I graduated medical school more than 20 years ago, practiced as a surgeon(subspecialty) in my home country and came here to the US 10 years ago , did a few surgical fellowships in my subspecialty and was employed in the midwest with no board certification.

I quit that job (which I enjoyed) mainly because of family pressure/ situation and decided to pursue a residency. I have just completed 2 years of a prelim general surgical residency.

I am now applying to anesthesia/FM/ IM. Realistically what do you think my chances are?

Step 1 203
Step 2 204
Both first attempt
CK/CS- first attempt.

All three Steps were taken more than 15 years back when I needed them for a fellowship, I had not then thought I might actually move here.

I have a lot of publications but only in my subspecialty. I have good LORs but again only from surgeons.

Given all the strikes against me (older age, low scores, non-US IMG, no actual experience in anesthesia or IM or FM), I would sincerely appreciate any input (especially from any PDs/ faculty out there ) as to what my chances are and how best to maximize them.

At this point, I would gladly apply to any specialty which would take me.

Thanks in advance for your time.
I don't have any firm answers for you, but I will say I believe you may need to retake your USMLEs since they expire after 7 years. However, that could work in your favor because you could improve a lot.

Also, have a look at NRMP Charting Outcomes for the IMG (2016) because these are the people who you will be competing with and that PDs will be comparing you with.