Chances of being accepted into a masters degree program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cocantu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergraduate pursuing a pre-med biology degree. I have a 2.66 GPA. I had a difficult time in the beginning. Do you think that it is possible that I get accepted into a graduate masters program, in order to get a better GPA and try to apply to medical school? Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently an undergraduate pursuing a pre-med biology degree. I have a 2.66 GPA. I had a difficult time in the beginning. Do you think that it is possible that I get accepted into a graduate masters program, in order to get a better GPA and try to apply to medical school? Thank you in advance.

It should be known that this is an uphill battle, but not a lost cause. There's so many Master's programs out there that you need only be smart about which ones you target. Depending on your year (Freshman, Soph, etc), I'd say if you still have at least 1-2 years left (the more the better), I'd start looking for professors doing the kind of research you'd want to do in your Masters (and at the institution you want to do it in, if it's not the one you go to already). If you do good work and show an aptitude for research/biology/whatever, they can be a strong advocate for your graduate admissions. I think any ambitious professor out there would love having someone who already knows what their lab does come into a graduate program - it's a win-win. I know a number of people who have been accepted or even actively recruited into grad programs by just working with professors that can vouch for your research/intellectual ability.