Chances of getting in? I'm started to get really worried

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bml3

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!
So I am a senior this year, doing a gap year so I'm not applying until the next cycle and I plan on getting my applications in early. I don't have a great GPA, Overall= 3.32, science = 3.01 with an upward trend (but I'm hoping these will go up some after this school year, and I also took two classes at other schools and got an A in both so that will factor in when I send those transcripts). I took the DAT this past summer and got a 19 so I am planning on retaking it at the end of January because I feel that I need a better score to offset my low GPA.
As for extracurriculars, I am in a sorority and have had some leadership experience and I've done research and received a research award/grant to continue it. I have shadowed various dentists and this past summer I worked as an assistant with a pediatric dentist. I know I need more community service hours so I'm looking into doing more of that during the rest of undergrad and for my gap year my plan is to work as an assistant again.
I'm just wondering if you guys think I have a change of getting in when I apply or if I should be looking into doing a postbac or masters? Also I know of a few schools that I am planning on applying to but if anyone has any recommendations on that, that would be helpful. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I think you have a good chance at getting interviews given you continue taking science classes and do well in them to boost your GPA. you mentioned you already got an additional two A's so those will help and doing a postbacc will also help. and maybe raise your DAT by a point or two! :)

Strong rec letters and a strong personal statement are a must. It looks like your ECs and shadowing are great! you're on the right track and have a good plan. Good luck! :)