PhD/PsyD Chances of getting in with a 3.2 GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aynarta

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I really need some guidance on the probability of getting into a Ph.D program this fall. I was an RA for three years of undergrad and first-authored 3 posters during that time. I graduated in June 2020 and have been a lab manager since then for my undergrad lab.

My concerns are my 3.2 GPA from being pre-med at first; my verbal GRE is great, my quant not so much

I'm wondering if:

1. I have a shot and should apply for Ph.D programs this fall
  2. I should apply for a Master's to strengthen my GPA and potentially get a publication
  3. Continue working as a lab manager, possibly get a pub in that time, and apply next fall

Members don't see this ad.

Since you have research experience and 3 posters already, I would apply this cycle while continuing to engage with ways to improve your CV.

Programs are primarily looking for relevant experiences and good fit so depending on the program/PI and your competition, it's really hard to tell in advance how GPA will be perceived. It could matter a lot, moderately, or not at all.

A Master's would probably be more relevant for somebody with minimal research experience so your efforts and energy might be better placed elsewhere, even if you aren't successful this cycle (unless you could be happy doing a MA/MS that results in a Master's level license to practice if you stop with your education).

Members don't see this ad :)
I would normally say low, but a 3.2 premed is different than a 3.2 psych major in some key ways. what was your major / major GPA?
It was low when I was taking the premed classes because they sucked the life out of me, like a 3.4/.5 and there's definitely an upwards trend.