Chances of getting into Physician Assistant School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lmarsee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a senior at Indiana University in Bloomington majoring in neuroscience, with minors in psychology and biology. I am an Indiana resident, and have applied broadly to multiple schools, but fear my lack of healthcare hours may hurt my chances.
CGPA 3.76, SGPA, 3.72
Health care hours medical technician and patient care assistant ~511

Shadowing MD/PA's ~26 hours

CNA training ~80 hours

some volunteer hours ~120 hours

Members don't see this ad.

Your chances are good. Apply broadly. Grades are king, not HCE. Extensive HCE is the ticket for a rare few programs. Heck, in a few years Yale is going to churn out 350 PAs per year through an online program. No joke. Then everyone will be doing that. You can't tell me they will care a bit about HCE when they have that many seats to fill.

Apparently they have changed the proposal for a normal sized class with the same prereqs as the on-campus program. those who do on campus will be physician associates(they already are there) and those who do online will physician assistants.

Members don't see this ad :)
Your chances are good. Apply broadly. Grades are king, not HCE. Extensive HCE is the ticket for a rare few programs. Heck, in a few years Yale is going to churn out 350 PAs per year through an online program. No joke. Then everyone will be doing that. You can't tell me they will care a bit about HCE when they have that many seats to fill.

No, he most likely needs more HCE hours for sure to be competitive with other applicants, those hours of HCE prob put him past screening. Would it hurt him if he applied, no, but will need to be more reasonable in which schools to look at. HCE > Grades for PA school. As for the Yale program, the online idea was shut down, but maybe some day - def not a good idea.