Chances of Matching Psychiatry with Low Step1 Score?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDMohawk

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, all. I'm new to SDN, but I had a question pertaining to my chances of matching in psychiatry? I ended up scoring a 199 on Step1 on first attempt and haven't taken Step2 yet. No psychiatry-specific research and only a neurology project that's been dragging its feet; no poster or presentation, yet. Couple of research projects with presentations from undergrad. I do have a few leadership positions and I anticipate strong LORs. No red flags from the first two years of med school. US MD. I'm just curious what my chances are for matching and how many programs would be a reasonable number to apply to? I really don't have any preference on a particular region of the country. Thanks for your time-I really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm only a lowly M2, but the odds don't look terrible to me. According to this chart, 59/77 US senior psychiatry applicants matched with a Step 1 from 191-200.
Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 10.09.46 PM.png

Reactions: 1 user
im a psychiatry intern, DO student at a MD program. you almost certainly will match.Especially since you aren't super picky region wise, I would think you'll be fine.

I know some say "apply 30" others say 50, some say 20 etc. Honestly I say apply to as many as you can afford, you can always cancel interviews but you can't cancel interviews you don't have.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)