Chances so far and suggestions please?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agoron

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I know I'm WAY early for this, but I'm a 2nd semester sophomore, and I've just decided now that I would like to apply to medical school for entrance in the Fall of 2016. I was on a pre-vet track thinking about veterinary school, but now I think I would like to pursue medical school instead. I was just hoping I could post a few stats and if some of you guys would be able to give me advice on what I need to continue to do or what I should be looking to do next in order to set myself up for a successful application. I'm a Maryland resident, and definitely will be applying to the University of Maryland, so hopefully that will go well because I'm in-state.

Anyways:

Animal Sciences Major
Spanish Language and Cultures Minor

GPA: 3.90
Science GPA: 3.90
MCAT: unknown, will take next year

Clinical Experience:
150 hours at an animal hospital (This is from when I was pursuing veterinary school. If I can't count this as clinical, I can definitely count it as volunteer, right? It was unpaid volunteer work, but I did get to see a lot of surgeries and appointments, albeit on animals.)
20 hours pediatrician shadowing
Beginning volunteer work at a hospital this summer, so I am anticipating 100-150 hours of volunteer work this coming summer

Volunteer Experience:
National Zoo Bird House (1 semester)
Animal Welfare Society
University of Maryland Campus Farm (1 semester)

Employment:

Charm City Hospitality (special events catering company at a concert pavilion) 4 years

Research:
I'm just beginning this semester in a Children's Language Development and Speech Perception Research Lab. 6 hrs/week for hopefully the rest of my college career

Extracurriculars:
Sigma Alpha Sorority (Secretary)
Pre-Med Society
Organic Chemistry Tutor
School of Agriculture and Natural Resources Student Ambassador