MD Chances? What should I aim for on MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fl0ridaman

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Aim as high as possible, a 520+ should get some looks your way. Easier said than done obviously

Hi everyone, I'm currently a junior at the Univ. of Florida and I wanted to get some advice on what my chances are and what I can do to improve my chances.

Here are some of my numbers:
  • cGPA: 3.56
  • sGPA: 3.35
  • Major: Nutritional Science
  • Asian Male
  • Roughly 50 hours of hospital volunteering experience
  • No leadership/research
Grew up in a very impoverished, high crime rate area. I actually received a full ride from UF since I am a first generation and my mom's (dad passed away) income is very low. Parents are immigrants and I am a first generation college student. I came into my freshman year with roughly 65 credits and some of the classes I took during dual enrollment in HS saved my GPA. I started out pre-med and it was the only thing I ever wanted to do but I dealt with ADD for a long time but it never crippled me since I didn't have a hard time in HS and when I was truly challenged, I couldn't keep myself up and things fell apart. Things really went downhill for me from there. I failed Gen. Chem, barely passed most of my science classes my freshman year.