Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

chances ? ?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Coolio30, Jun 14, 2002.

1. Coolio30

Coolio30 Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi, all. Here is the story. I am a NJ resident and have a 3.9 GPA and a 27 MCAT (10V, 9B, 8P, O). At this point, I would love to get into my two state schools, UMDNJ, and RWJ. However, I am applying to DO schools and out of state MD schools (low tier). How do you all feel are my chances. If I do not retake, I am sure my options are limited but I much rather just get into a school. Is it necessary for me to retake to get into any MD school. Also, I am Asian so I dont know how what effect this has. Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. relatively prime

relatively prime post happy member
    7+ Year Member

For the schools you are applying to, I think you'll be fine... especially since you're not bent on getting into all the top schools... and since your applying DO (good for you!! :) )

This is my reasoning: You don't have less than an 8 in any of the MCAT sections and your gpa is high. Being Asian isn't going to help you... but considering the schools you are applying to, you should be ok.

But I don't want to sound like I think I'm an adcom or something... you never really now.

That's just my opinion... which is all anyone can give you.

Good luck :)

4. Coolio30

Coolio30 Member
    7+ Year Member

5. SMW

SMW Grand Member
    7+ Year Member