Changed pre-reqs., now starting from scratch in confusion. Suggestions??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ThePlaidMan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Don't know if TAMUK pre-reqs were recently changed, or if I somehow missed seeing it, but I was planning on studying and taking the PCAT this summer, as well as volunteer as pharm. tech for experience and apply this year for early admission into TAMUK.
Apparently, my art & english pre-reqs. are more than 5 yrs. old which they won't count unless I have a Bachelors degree. :confused: So now I feel like I'm at square one.
What do I do? Any advice?
Take another 2 yrs. to complete a Bio. degree, but then when am I going to start studying for the PCAT and take it? Along with that, when am I going to be able to find the time between full-time school to complete a bachelors degree, while studying for the PCAT and getting certified as a pharm. tech?? I'm already a non-traditional student to begin with (30 yrs. old) with a family who has to put up with me not working right now (hence, we've been living on school loans this semester) thinking I was going to apply this year. Now I'm expected to take more years of school and don't even know if I could do all previously mentioned (study for PCAT & Pharm. Tech, while full-time school to graduate) while working.
I mean, hell can a grown man with a family do this..and if so what's a realistic time frame?
My grades are great in pre-reqs. All A's in Chemistrys. But it's the PCAT & tech preparation while completing my bachelors and still wondering if I should work while doing it all as soon as possible.....I mean I could only do so much.
So ANYONE got suggestions? I'll take anything to give me some realistic perspective on getting my goals moving and having my family suffer as little as possible on the way :confused:. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.