Chapel Hill Question

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by wazupshah, Nov 2, 2002.

1. wazupshah

wazupshah Senior Member

Alright, so I just got the secondary in the mail which basically states that I automatically have an interview as long as I can proove that I'm a resident of NC. The problem is that while NC is the closest thing that I have to a state Residency, I was actually living in Japan last year on the JET program and I'm not sure if they'll consider me in-state and Indepent of my parents.

Bottom line:
    If they determine me not to be a resident, does that mean that...

1) I'm totally out of the race
    2) I get put in the Out-of-State pile and go through a more rigorous screening
    3) i get put in the Out-of-State pile but still get to keep my interview offer

I'm curious to know what you all think.

Thanks,
    Wazupshah

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Random Access

Random Access 1K Member

It wouldn't make sense for you still to have an interview if you were out of state, given that the standard they're giving you is that you need to be in-state. I'd imagine you go on the out of state pile, and the criteria will then be more stringent.

Do you think you'll have trouble proving residency? What was your official address? And were you paying NC taxes, etc?

4. Neuronix

Neuronix Total nerd
    Administrator Physician PhD Faculty SDN Advisor

Attending Physician
    At UMaryland it seems like their criterion for interviews is just that you have a Maryland address. They worry about the actual tuition status much later, I think even after you've been accepted.

In any case, just CALL THEM and ask.

5. wazupshah

wazupshah Senior Member

I wish NC was as cool as Maryland. NC definitely places the strict criteria for residency upon both admissions and tuition. They mentioned that in the letter that I got.