Chem PhD nontraditional with limited clinical experience but otherwise good app - what do you think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1039510

Hey guys, I’m a non traditional MD applicant looking at applying this May 2020 and I need advice. I have a PhD in chemistry from a top 5 school, lots of research, > 10 publications, GPA 3.8, and have worked the last two years in biotech/pharma consulting. MCAT is in April but have been getting around 520 on AAMC FLs so anticipating a good score. I have ~65 hours of shadowing across a few specialties but otherwise no clinical experience. Have ~300 hours volunteering with an education non-profit in grad school. Do you think I have a shot? I’m also having a hard time figuring out how to get actual clinical experience - have applied to a bunch of volunteer things but no response (and I work full time with pretty demanding hours)... so any ideas there would be helpful. Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys, I’m a non traditional MD applicant looking at applying this May 2020 and I need advice. I have a PhD in chemistry from a top 5 school, lots of research, > 10 publications, GPA 3.8, and have worked the last two years in biotech/pharma consulting. MCAT is in April but have been getting around 520 on AAMC FLs so anticipating a good score. I have ~65 hours of shadowing across a few specialties but otherwise no clinical experience. Have ~300 hours volunteering with an education non-profit in grad school. Do you think I have a shot? I’m also having a hard time figuring out how to get actual clinical experience - have applied to a bunch of volunteer things but no response (and I work full time with pretty demanding hours)... so any ideas there would be helpful. Thanks!!
What are you going to say when asked how you know you are suited for a life of caring for the sick and suffering? “That you just know”? Imagine how that will go over!