1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Chem prereq

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by greniedgal, Sep 3, 2002.

1. greniedgal

greniedgal Member
    7+ Year Member

Hey everyone. I was wondering if you guys could give me some input. A few schools have told me that Biochem would count as one of the semesters of "inorganic chem" that is a prereq. Does anyone know whether this is common knowledge, ie that most schools look at a semester of Biochem (in the chem dept) as fulfilling a semester of inorganic? I'm a postbac student and I'm trying to plan my schedule of prereqs accordingly but don't want to have to take more classes than necessary. I'd appreciate any input!

Thanks! :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Fenrezz

Fenrezz AT Stills Worst Nightmare
    7+ Year Member

I might be wrong, but I think when they say inorganic chem, they're talking about general chemistry, as opposed to organic chemistry. As long as you've had 8 credits of general chemistry, you should have fulfilled the requirement.

Although I'd suggest you take biochem anyway because it will help with the MCAT. If you get into med school you'll be thanking god you took it.

4. rpames

rpames Optometrist
    10+ Year Member

Optometrist
    I have not seen them say bio chem replaces inorganic, but I have seen a few school stat that it could be used in place of the second semester of organic.

A side note: If you have the time, take biochem anyway. All my friends in medical schools are all saying that it is well worth taking before you get in.

5. Kry

Kry cranky