Chemical Engineer Here

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Biotechnical

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a chemical engineer considering a career in medicine. I am about to wrap up sophomore year and I wanted to know what you think about my stats and chances. I'll be done all the pre-reqs once these last finals are out of the way.

GPA: 3.36
sGPA: 3.21

I should be doing some cellular research this summer with one of my professors. And I will be teaching a class this Fall and Spring (how good/unique is this on an app?). I haven't taken the MCAT yet. I plan on finding a local hospital to sign up as a volunteer with this summer too.

What do you guys think I should do over this summer and next year to strengthen my application as much as possible? And which schools should I be targeting? (I'm an NC resident)

Members don't see this ad.

GPA: 3.36
sGPA: 3.21

We can't tell you schools to target when your application GPA and MCAT aren't known. Right now your stats are lower than the average acceptee to a DO med school (3.45) and far below the median for MD acceptees (3.65). With a year of straight As, you could raise your cGPA to 3.57, and with two years it could be 3.68.

You seriously need to raise your BCPM GPA and cGPA, Take upper-level science classes to do this over the next year, and even a year after that if necessary.

One summer of research is fine for scome schools, but to have more choices, consider continuing with the research through the next school year. A year of research seems about average for those who list it.

Teaching, tutoring, coaching, or TAing are all well thought of and will strengthen your application, but it would not be a unique activity.