Chemistry Prerequisites as Credit/No Credit

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AshPreMed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a University of Toronto student.

I'm interested in taking my upper year chemistry courses (orgo and inorganic) as a Credit/No credit basis (where the mark will not show; only Pass/Fail). I'm Canadian and American, and planning to apply to Canada and USA. My cGPA is a 3.2 so far, the past (3rd) year was a 3.75, doing MCAT this summer, and applying in October. Otherwise, I would prefer to do them after I graduate in the summer at another university on the basis of a conditional acceptance to a medical school (but I'd have only 4 FCEs in my last year, which might make some schools wonder why I didnt do the courses at UofT?).

Would Med schools accept the prerequisites without grades, and would doing so lower my chances of being accepted?

Lastly, on a side note, how necessary is research experience?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm a University of Toronto student.

I'm interested in taking my upper year chemistry courses (orgo and inorganic) as a Credit/No credit basis (where the mark will not show; only Pass/Fail). I'm Canadian and American, and planning to apply to Canada and USA. My cGPA is a 3.2 so far, the past (3rd) year was a 3.75, doing MCAT this summer, and applying in October. Otherwise, I would prefer to do them after I graduate in the summer at another university on the basis of a conditional acceptance to a medical school (but I'd have only 4 FCEs in my last year, which might make some schools wonder why I didnt do the courses at UofT?).

1) Would Med schools accept the prerequisites without grades, and
2) would doing so lower my chances of being accepted?

3) Lastly, on a side note, how necessary is research experience?

Thanks!