Chemistry!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

uncultured

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I'm going to be starting chemistry this fall, intro to chemistry, that is. I'm a rising sophomore at UNC-Chapel Hill (I did my bio last year) I'm concerned because, while I took honors chemistry in high school, I also come from an extremely weak math background. When I was in high school, I had the same Math teacher for algebra 2, advanced math (alg. 3/trig) and precalculus. Due to extraordinary teaching abilities (he has since been fired) I have more or less no knowledge of those subjects (save a bit of algebra 2). While I realize that it's relatively difficult to predict someone's success in any given course, would I be better off taking some kind of remedial math class? Or is the math graspable? Anyone who has been in a similar situation and can offer some advice would be much appreciated! :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you'll have any problems, but if you're not feeling confident about your mathematical abilities, then take a college algebra class or go to a bookstore and buy a cool book and review on your own. If you're into videos, check out the Standard Deviants series...I'm pretty sure that they have an algebra tape.

Don't take a review course, that would be a waste of money.

General Chemistry requires only basic algebra (logarithms, solve "x", simple arithmetic, etc.). If you feel uncomfortable, just get a good algebra book and review an area if you see something unfamiliar in your chem lectures.

With the exception of the lab component (which requires even less math than general chemistry), organic chemistry contains almost no math. I think the only time I had to use math was when I had to calculate unsaturation numbers, but thats just simple arithmetic.

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by uncultured