Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Child Psychiatry

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by raj2002, Aug 8, 2002.

1. raj2002

raj2002 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hey anyone attracted to Child Psychiatry?
    Why this - is it the working with children ythat gets you?
    Or is it the fascination with how we develop in childhood itself?
    Or maybe you're just interested in looking at your own past self and how you developed? (which is what Freud seemed to be stuck in a rut doing! Hey contentious or what??)

I'd love to hear why people are being drawn into it..:clap: and I'll argue it out with you till dawn...!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. neuropsych

neuropsych Member
    7+ Year Member

I am an MPH student and plan to apply to medical school or graduate school next summer. I am interested in pursuing either neuropsychiatry or clinical neuropsychology, depending on which route I choose -- MD/DO or PhD.

I am interested in psychiatry because of its inherent challenge and mystery. While I have considered pursuing child psychiatry or child clinical neuropsychology, I would rather be in adult practice. As you know, child psychiatrists deal mostly with problems such as ADHD, conduct disorder, oppositional defiant disorder, and rarely, more extreme Axis II psychopathology. With regard to adults, however, a psychiatrist will see a wider variety of psychopathology, including schizophrenia, more Axis II disorders, as well as impulse control disorders such as pathological gambling and pyromania. While there is much overlap between child and adult psychiatry, I simply find the adult side to be more varied and challenging, both of which add to the mystery which drives me to pursue this field.

Are you planning to pursue child psychiatry?

neuropsych

4. Sanman

Sanman O.G.
    10+ Year Member

Psychologist
    hey neuropsych,