Aug 4, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a 4th year Chemical Engineering student and 3rd year Chinese Language and Culture Student. I will be a double major in both of these programs after spending next year, 2009-2010, one academic year abroad in China for a language immersion program (you're not allowed to speak english). In addition to these majors, I am also an instrument rated private pilot.

I am worried about my numbers... I have not yet taken the MCAT but suspect to score around a 30-32 (hopefully). I currently have a 3.51 cGPA and 3.25 BCPM. My BCPM is low but I will have one more year of biology and some chemistry before I apply and hope to get my BCPM to about 3.4-3.5 and my cGPA to 3.56-3.6. Does anyone have any advice on what these numbers look like? I have time during a break to volunteer at a hospital in China for 4 weeks to learn about eastern medicine, would this help my resume out?

Also, I will be 24 when applying to med school and I took general chemistry when I first got to college, at age 18-19, will this cause a problem?

OP
H
Aug 4, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
I hate to bump my own message... I'm wondering if everybody thinks that it is a good resume booster for a white male to be able to fluently speak Mandarin Chinese. Also, what do you think about the 1 year immersion program. Thanks!

Naijaba

10+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2007
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi Harley1821,

Certainly you have some very significant experiences/talents; and yes, they will make your application stand out. Although it is very unique for a white person to speak Mandarin, there will be many Chinese applicants who speak Mandarin fluently [Mandarin is spoken by 2.6x more people throughout the world than English]. I think if you stress why speaking the language is important to your career as a physician (do you intend to practice in high need Chinese communities?), then it would be more valuable as a character trait.