choosing a surgical residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocnHoc

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all; I am currently a 3rd year medical student who is highly considering doing a surgery residency. I find appealing the chance to work with my hands as well as the seemingly definitive solutions that are characteristic of surgical (as opposed to medical) treatments. However, one concern that I do have is that upper level classmates have commented to me that surgeons don't "use their heads" as much as other doctors; that surgery is more or less performing a trained task repetitively. While there may be some truth to that, what surgical specialties offer the most challenge, as far as planning new approaches on procedures, or coming up with novel treatments for conditions, etc. ? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Since you are posting on a surgery forum, you will get a resounding "NO" to your first question. I tend to agree. Surgeons do use their heads. There is a lot that goes into preop workup and well as postop care. In addition, you have to plan the appropriate procedure, plan the appropriate approach, and then do it, all the while making intraop decisions that could drastically affect outcome. This does not mean that every case is going to be a brain-teaser, but then again, how many pediatricians have to spend a lot of time thinking about how to treat that URI?

Different specialties have different perks. I will say that fields such as urology and ENT offer a mix of nonoperative/clinic work as well as operative stuff (sort of a mix of medicine and surgery). Neurosurgeons deal with the CNS (obviously) and many would say that big advances in neuroscience are around the corner. In addition, neurosurgeons deal with nonoperative (and operative) management of conditions such as intracranial hemorrhage and head/spinal cord trauma.