Choosing between two majors not sure which one would be better?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sjs101

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that I want to either go to PA or medical school but am not sure yet. I'm a freshman at Ohio State University. I know your major may not really matter but I have narrowed it down to two, nutrition or neuroscience. I know they are two very different things but I have interested in both and can't decide. Which will be more useful to me for a career in the medical field? And if medicine does not end up working out, which will open more doors to other graduate programs in the health field? Also, I think the neuroscience classes may be slightly harder looking at the coursework for both, so I might be able to get a higher gpa with nutrition if that makes a difference. Would it be worth it to major in one and minor in the other?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

I have heard that neuroscience is a hard field to find work in. With nutrition, you could do a master's program and become a licensed nutritionist. Neuroscience may expose you to more biology material, but nutrition would give you a good foundation in biochemistry; that major at my university does, anyway. Either way, as long as you finish your prerequisites, you will be good to go for med school. I personally would go with neuroscience because I'm a psych major and I like anything to do with the brain. You definitely want to have your GPA as high as possible when you apply. Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user