Choosing dermatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lili

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year medical student trying to choose a specialty. I have recently become interested in dermatology, but do not know where to find information. Apart from a nice lifestyle, what attracts people to dermatology?

Members don't see this ad.

Try the American Academy of Dermatology and aks them for an Info packet:

American Academy of Dermatology (708) 330-0230

Keep in mind that derm programs are highly competitive, and this is an understatement. As for what attracts people to derm, it beats me...just kidding
smile.gif

Good luck!

Originally posted by UHS2002:
Try the American Academy of Dermatology and aks them for an Info packet:

American Academy of Dermatology (708) 330-0230

Keep in mind that derm programs are highly competitive, and this is an understatement. As for what attracts people to derm, it beats me...just kidding
smile.gif

Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm interested in Derm. because of the variety of things you see each day. Also you can perform procedures at a level that you are comfortable with. If you're into surgery, there is plenty of opportunity for it. If you're not too comfortable with that, you can just stick to the simple things like biopsies.

Hey Carbon-- that link seems to be down. I keep hearing Medschool.com is down all the time-- do you know anything about it?

What attracts people to dermatology?

Nice set hours (8-5 M-F), and very few calls at 3:30 am for a prescription for an antibiotic for acne.

Personally, it sounds very boring to me, but I have always been a Type A personality.

Look out ER, here I come.... Still no call when off-duty, but the potential for action is there at least. Still, I don't know how many acute otitis media before I am sick to death of them and longing for a gunshot victim or MI.

Pilot