Choosing Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mjjdm1985

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Family Med contributors,

I'm a 4th year medical student and will be submitting my residency application next week. I have received 5 letters of recommendation, but Family Med programs seem to accept no more than 4. I need to decide which letter to leave out. I would really appreciate advice. I believe all 5 are strong letters. The main drawback I can see with several of them is that I didn't do a clinical rotation with the author, but those authors have titles that the ones I performed clinicals with do not. I know all of the authors well. These are the letter descriptions:

1. Writer: Family Med doctor with whom I spent 3 months on clinical
Pros:
1. I became very good friends with this doctor. My wife and I attended his church during my time in town and were invited to his house several times. He wrote the letter soon after I finished the rotation.
2. He said he was very impressed with my performance and encouraged me to apply to the residency program he attended.
Cons: he is a private dr, not faculty

2. Writer: Family Med/Sports Med doctor (and associate OMM professor at my school)
Pros:
1. I did a 1 month clinical with him in sports medicine; I knew this doctor from class before clinical then got to know him well during clinical
2. He told me that he wrote an extremely positive letter
3. He is faculty (although not a chair)
Cons: only spent 1 month with him rather than 3

3. Writer: Department Chair of Family Medicine at my school
Pros:
1. I did research with him (just the two of us, no other students) for 5 weeks during the summer between first and second year.
2. Knew him very well. He didn't tell me how good the letter is, but I think it is probably very good.
3. He is Family Med chair
Cons: didn't do a clinical with him