Cinci VS OU-HCOM Cleveland

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted964256

Relatively unique situation here. Obviously MD>DO.

I'm a northeast Ohio resident. Currently on WL at Case/Neomed but as May is passing my hopes are greatly diminishing to get off either of those WL. My wife works in NEO, our families/friends are in NEO. I applied to OU-HCOM Cleveland specifically due to location, and honestly I think I would enjoy being a student there. I've only ever heard good things about the school and I know a few people who currently attend. Obviously Cinci is a T50 MD and has a whole host of pros in attending. Both schools are equally priced tuition wise. As far as specialty interests go I'm fairly ambivalent, but I have spent a lot of time working in ophtho and that highly interests me.

The issue comes down to making easily the hardest decision I've ever faced. Uplift my family and move to Cinci for my career, or stay in NEO for a fairly high ranked DO school. My wife in her current position wouldn't be able to work 100% remotely. Commuting from NEO to Cinci 1x weekly is unfortunately and unsurprisingly not an option from what I can ascertain.
All the pros of Cinci are career-related.

All the pros of OU-HCOM are lifestyle related.

What do you all recommend? Obviously no one has a crystal ball, but would going to OU shoot myself in the foot for my career? Is it worth moving my wife and I away from our support systems? Really hoping anyone who has made a similar decision could give advice here. I've wavered intensely on this decision for a few months now.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user