Civilian Doctor Contract Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spiveydog

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question regarding a pending contract with the Air Force. I am a Family Physician and I just completed my active duty service commitment this month. My future plans include starting a new job out of state in July. My fiancé is also finishing up her residency training (civilian) at the same time. As a result, I needed temporary work for the next 4 months. My chain of command offered my a GS civilian position for this time. Apparently, the squadron was given Global War on Terrorism money to hire civilians on one year contracts to help combat the loss of physicians due to deployments. They have had these spots go unfilled in the past and figured that they could at least get 4 months out of me. My flight commander told me that this was a "GS position with all of the benefits"--malpractice, life/health insurance, decent vacation, etc. I was told my salary would be equivalent to a recently hired permanent GS doc. For me, this was a no brainer. I would not have to search for a temporary job (my short search yielded few takers for four months unless I wanted to do Locums), I knew the system (as disjointed and frustrating as it is), and my salary would increase substantially.