Monoloco357

2+ Year Member
Aug 1, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Forgive me in advance, for I am typing this on my phone.

I am quite torn as to whether I should or shouldn't put a particular hobby as one of my 15 ECs, Clash of Clans. I have played the game for over two years. I started playing after some coaxing from my teammates.

Why do I consider this experience to be one that offers insight to my candidacy as an applicant? Leadership experience.

Explanation:
The clan I am in is comprised of friends, friends of friends, family, etc. No one in the clan is some random person from within the gaming community. The ties are personal in that respect.
Shortly after joining the clan, I became a co-leader (no, not all of us are co-leaders, and no, we don't just dish out the rank all willy-nilly). As a co-leader, I have collaborated with five other co-leaders and a leader on various topics regarding the clan's direction, purpose, etc. As a collective leadership, we determine the best route for the clan, and lead our group of friends, which is in the neighborhood of 60 strong (if you play, we have two clans to manage this). I have resolved conflict, learned how to present ideas, been able to offer valuable insight, etc.

Is this an activity worth placing in the EC section of my application?

My primary concern is that although it absolutely is something I enjoy doing in my pass time, it is a video game, and ADCOMs likely won't take too kindly to a video game as a hobby, due to the stereotyping associated with gamers.

LivMoore

2+ Year Member
Oct 21, 2015
Texas
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Clash Royale would be more impressive :p

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Crayola227

The Oncoming Storm
5+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2013
All of Time & Space
just, no

NimbleNavigator

Membership Revoked
Removed
Account on Hold
Mar 15, 2016