Class of 2012 Pre-med/Nursing Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

i5hina

AllopathicJay
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, im new to the site, but i wanted some advice. Im a Junior year Nursing student, who's looking to get into med school, after graduating in 2012, is there any advice you can give me in the preparation for the MCAT's, and learning all the components of it, before the summer? Also, is there any advice on how to stand out to schools? i already do clinicals at high standing hospitals, do volunteer work, tutor peers. Have a high GPA (3.9) Is there anything else i need to distinguish myself?

Members don't see this ad.

Don't think I'm flaming you, but you want to go to medical school, so why did you take a spot in the nursing major at your school when you had no intention of becoming a nurse, considering that there is a nursing shortage?

You can expect a question like that at your interviews. Rumor has it nursing majors catch flack in the application process for this reason.

Don't think I'm flaming you, but you want to go to medical school, so why did you take a spot in the nursing major at your school when you had no intention of becoming a nurse, considering that there is a nursing shortage?

You can expect a question like that at your interviews. Rumor has it nursing majors catch flack in the application process for this reason.

Geekchick, in most areas there is really NO nursing shortage. New graduate RNs and experienced RNs are having quite the time finding jobs as they carry their $60,000++ loans. That is the reality. Hospitals have frozen so much of the hiring everywhere, and many things are going out of the hospital. This trend will continue such that less nurses in-hospital will be needed.

Members don't see this ad :)
i5,

Make sure you meet all the pre-med requirements to the letter.
Definitely get shadowing going.
Consider perhaps applied research.