Clinical Experience In a Rehab Setting....Is It Up to Par?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chevy Chase Fan

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been volunteering at a rehab hospital for about 4 months now. I originally picked the place because I wanted to be a physical therapist, but after talking to different PTs and getting some exposure to the profession over the last few months, I've decided its not for me as far as careers go. But the volunteering is solid b/c I get to be around patients all the time, so I'm hesitant to go somewhere else.

Are there better settings for me to get clinical experience than this? Should I look for something else?

One other problem is I want to ask one of the PTs for a letter of recommendation when I eventually do apply to med school, but I'm concerned they might be put-off that I chose medicine over PT (they're under the impression I want to go to PT school). I'm concerned that the PTs might feel a little insulted.

Anyway, thanks for your feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

I've been volunteering at a rehab hospital for about 4 months now. I originally picked the place because I wanted to be a physical therapist, but after talking to different PTs and getting some exposure to the profession over the last few months, I've decided its not for me as far as careers go. But the volunteering is solid b/c I get to be around patients all the time, so I'm hesitant to go somewhere else.

Are there better settings for me to get clinical experience than this? Should I look for something else?

One other problem is I want to ask one of the PTs for a letter of recommendation when I eventually do apply to med school, but I'm concerned they might be put-off that I chose medicine over PT (they're under the impression I want to go to PT school). I'm concerned that the PTs might feel a little insulted.

Anyway, thanks for your feedback.