clinical experience in the summer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wcDO

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everybody, i am about to finish my first year at NYCOM.

I really wanna get more clinical experience in the summer. but i dunno how to find those opportunities. I especially wanna spend some time working in those hospitals that are affiliated wtih NYCOM or those hospitals in the city.

Also, i heard about the medical mission trip. i am thinking about doing that in the summer too, however, i dunno if i am eligible to apply since i am just a first year student.

any advise will be greatly appreciated.

thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

The good news is that AMSA has a # of summer international clinical programs for medical students (including MS1s).

The bad news is that the applications were due months ago.

Call a few local docs and see if they take you for a few weeks volunteering. We at KCOM have a 2-week preceptorship this summer, actually the first round for half the class starts this coming Monday. Very exciting. Got to do an H&P this early in my career is exciting. Some of the 2nd-years last year even delivered babies and participated in surgery. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
take the summer off from medicine..this is the last totally carefree summer of your life..try to get away from it for a while b/c you are going to spend your life doing medicine..many students experience total burnout by the end of the year..i know i did..i could not even read the newspaper for a while! getting more clinical experience is certainly good, and i encourage it..but do not rush..you will have plenty of time for clinical experience..i would strongly recommend that you sit back and chill..

I have to agree with Spunky - you are going to be a doctor the rest of your life - take this summer (your last) to travel, read, visit friends & family, etc...