Clinical Lab to Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LabStudent

Reaction score
I apologize if this is formatted incorrectly; if necessary, I could delete this and reformat. I typed this up before I read the formatting advice thread, there is a lot of information to digest here!

I'm a non-traditional student, who is planning to apply to medical school in two years. I had attended community college, got a couple semesters of A's, then a couple semesters of D's and F's (Frankly, due to developing a drug & alcohol problem- I have not disclosed this to any of my academic contacts). Leaving community college, I got a 2.11 GPA. Worked non-productive food-industry jobs for a couple years, nothing to really show for it other than gaining some maturity and a greater sense of work ethic.

I got sober, and was accepted into my state university. Went for a total of three years, acing everything except for getting a B in genetics. Took some fluff courses, TA'd for a micro lab, and took some upper division micro courses, while waiting to attend the next cycle of a medical laboratory science (MLS) program. Got my GPA up to a 3.6, without grade replacements (it is currently a 3.69 with grade replacements). I am currently attending a hospital MLS program, and will be a licensed MLS in the spring. If all A's are achieved throughout the 30 credit hour program, I will have end my bachelor's with a 3.70 GPA and 150ish credit hours. I should have plenty of clinical hours, but no patient contact hours, due to the nature of working as an MLS; I volunteered approximately 250 hours during my last year of on-campus undergrad, and will receive an excellent LoR from the executive director of the organization I volunteered at, and I'm hoping this may help offset the lack of patient contact.