Clinical Psych and loan limits

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jgclown

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The dept of education has increased loan limits for students in some PsyD and PhD programs in Clinical Psych. You can gett addtl' Stafford unsub loans as a health professional to pay for the increasing costs (up to $224,000ish).

I'm a doctoral student at JFK Univ in Pleasant Hill, CA and even though it is an APA accredited program in Clinical Psych their Fin Aid office stated they were not elig for the extra loan funding (I lack confidence in the answer because they sounded like a work study student). Locally, both Argosy and Alliant state on their website that Clin Psych students are eligible for additional Stafford loans and I can see no difference in what may make them eligible.

Does anyone know what may dictate if a school is elig or not? Any other thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

The dept of education has increased loan limits for students in some PsyD and PhD programs in Clinical Psych. You can gett addtl' Stafford unsub loans as a health professional to pay for the increasing costs (up to $224,000ish).

I'm a doctoral student at JFK Univ in Pleasant Hill, CA and even though it is an APA accredited program in Clinical Psych their Fin Aid office stated they were not elig for the extra loan funding (I lack confidence in the answer because they sounded like a work study student). Locally, both Argosy and Alliant state on their website that Clin Psych students are eligible for additional Stafford loans and I can see no difference in what may make them eligible.

Does anyone know what may dictate if a school is elig or not? Any other thoughts?