1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

clinical volunteer opportunities

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by nkg123, Aug 9, 2001.

1. nkg123

nkg123 Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Hello everyone.
    I am an applicant for medical school right now, and I was wanting to get some good clinical exposure during this year. It's been two years since I graduated college, and so I haven't gotten any clinical exposure lately, since I've been working for the past two years.
    What kinds of things have people done? I'm looking for ideas I can explore, and if any of you respondents are in the Houston area, I'd like to know of any good clinics where I can get to see things and learn. Any info is appreciated. Thank you.

--nkg

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. 12R34Y

10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Free health clinics always love volunteers. you'll probably take vitals, histories, and assist the docs or nurses. Go to a hospital and ask if they have ER volunteers. I'm sure there are more.

later

4. ckent

ckent Membership Revoked
    Removed

You can always ask individual docs if you can shadow them. If you e-mail or call enough of them, one of them is bound to say ok. Also, a lot of docs in academic centers do research and could always use some free labor, you might be able to get some good research and clinical experience and a good letter of rec. all with one stone that way.

5. e2k

e2k Member
    7+ Year Member

My recommendation: If you have time, do a First Responder or EMT certification and work on an ambulance or in an ER.

Volunteering in most wards gets boring fast unless you have interesting responsibilities. No one will let you do anything in most hospitals in the U.S.

Shadowing is good, but you don't really understand enough before med school to get a lot out of it.