Clinical volunteering or research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

abcjmz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am a Junior in undergrad now wanting to apply for med school in the 2014 cycle. My overall GPA (counting PSEO credits) is 3.81 and my BCPM GPA is 3.72. I have yet to take the MCAT, but would like to as soon as school gets out, in May. I have been studying for that gradually throughout the year.

I have about 100 hours of hospital volunteering over the past 2 summers, and have shadowed physicians in the ER at that hospital for 20-30 hours so far. I have also volunteered about 35 hours in the ER at our university hospital during the past 2 school years. This year I am a Student Associate in the Chemistry department (basically a TA for Gen. Chem. lab). It has been a really fun experience being able to teach students and help with their lab work.

So here is my question. I have not done any research so far. I helped out in a lab (making stock solutions, cleaning) for about a week at the beginning of last year and I hated it. Being that it is now my junior year and I have my hands full with the teaching, a moderate course load (16 hours) and studying for the MCAT, should I pursue Summer Undergraduate Research Programs for this summer to get research experience? Or will the clinical volunteering and shadowing be enough.

My options are:

A) Apply to summer research programs (moving to wherever) and/or try to get a summer job in a lab at a university near home.

B) Keep volunteering and shadowing physicians at the hospital near home (I could get a great letter of reference here).

Also, I am planning to apply to all 6 med schools in-state (Ohio), in addition to those in surrounding states. My first choice is Ohio State, but it doesn't matter what their ranking is.

Any thoughts would really be appreciated! Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Anybody have any thoughts?