College Freshman: MCAT, Courses, Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefullyThisWorksOut

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!
So, I'm a freshman college student who hopes to someday to become a doctor! The problem is, I have no idea what path to take, and specifically what must you do to even apply to medical school.

What are specific courses one must take?
Does major have anything to with applying?
What is the breakdown of the MCAT? Is there a thing as "too early" when it comes to taking the MCAT/Preparing for it?
How does one even begin to fathom preparing for the MCAT? (I've looked through several prep books and it all seems so overwhelming. I feel like I know 0 material and have no ides where or HOW to start.)
What other factors come into play when applying for medical school? Do extracurricular activities earn any brownie points like applying to undergraduate schools?
Do medical schools look at what undergraduate college you've attended? Or are GPA and MCAT scores the only thing they look at?
Should one have a backup plan just in case applying to medical school doesn't work out? Or is it a waste of time?

Sorry for the barrage of questions, but I'm very flustered with the whole idea of medical school and am in urgent need of some answers!

Thanks in advance for all you kind people who answered my questions/ gave me advice.

Hopefully this works out!

Members don't see this ad.

I have a question for you OP: Are you asking what major to take? Or what prereq courses you take to prepare for MCAT/premed? Either way, consult an advisor or your local college premed material/websites.