Sep 15, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello everyone,
This is my first post here at SDN.

I am currently an incoming freshman at UCR for UG. This summer, I took a math course, and depending on how you scored, you would be placed at your next math level. Well, I didn't score high enough to proceed in math, and will need to petition to retake it.

This was the first and only college class I have ever taken, I had to move a couple hours away to college on like a week's notice, and I had a hard time taking an almost 90% test-based course for the first time. I messed up and there's no use making excuses, but I do find it messed up that the school might kill my life's dream before I've even started there.

I am a non-science major and I'm dead set on going to med school. There seem to be a couple options:

1. The school grants my petition and I proceed as planned (one adviser said no way basically, course instructor said it's possible, and my advisor said idk)

2. I have to get a non science/math degree and then take courses at another school (concurrently or postgrad). The credits will not "transfer" so I will not be able to take any math/science courses at UCR, all will have to be done elsewhere.

3. I have to transfer to another school before the school year has even started- to a CC or something, which I sure as hell don't want to do. I love my school so far, except for this scenario.

What do you guys honestly think I should do, should the petition not be granted?

My goal is to get into a UC M.D. program, but honestly, I'd go to the best (or any) school that accepts me in the States. I know admissions are very difficult. I'm not really interested in D.O. programs or any other fields. I have volunteering, shadowing, and internship experience in both hospital and private practice settings, and I am very sure when I say that this is what I wholeheartedly want to do with my life.

Thank you very much, I appreciate any insight I can get.

efle

not an elf
5+ Year Member