Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Combat sports....?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by MeCord3, May 3, 2007.

1. MeCord3

Pre-Medical
    I've been doing MMA for a while now, and I'm frequently finding myself having to explain to people how I can both do that and be pre-med. Anyone else in a similar situation?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. BlackSails

Pre-Medical
    In terms of attitude or time? Ive been doing karate for 14 years, and never had anyone ask me that. I actually wrote an essay on that for my freshman writing class.

4. pagemmapants

pagemmapants Unknown Member

Attending Physician
    What kinds of morons think there's any sort of disconnect there?

Most martial arts training it's definitely looked down upon if you actually USE it on someone, and stuff that's MEANT to be used for self defense is usually disarmament and demobilization. Most people do it for discipline and as a less useless way to exercise than running or swimming in circles.

Ridiculous.

5. pennybridge

pennybridge Banned
    Banned

I started a fight club but didn't list it on AMCAS because of rules #1 and #2.

6. eternalrage

eternalrage Even Kal has bad days...

Resident [Any Field]
    Out of curiousity OP, where do you train?

I've been doing BJJ and Tang Soo Do for a number of years, and actually wrote about it in my personal statement. It all depends on how you talk about it. If, for example, you talk about fighting, obviously that's going to look bad, no matter how big your Matt Thorton shrine is at home. Most professional laymen, especially doctors, simply won't understand how beating up another person gives any sort of benefit.

Unfortunately you might have to talk about how "martial arts gave you confidence" or something equally as corny/mcdojo/bullshido for it to be minimally acceptable.