Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Combined BS/MD programs...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by spo0kman, Nov 27, 2000.

1. spo0kman

spo0kman Member

Hi all.. been awhile since I posted here.

To refresh, I am a 20 year old firefighter/paramedic who absolutely loves the amount of knowledge in medicine I have already gained and crave more. My problem is, while I was a good student in high school, I found it terribly boring and as such, never studied or did any homework. Graduating with a 3.2 and without taking SATs or ACTs, I immediately pursued a career in the fire and ems service. Now i'm stuck. I want to go to med/premed.. but my high school transcripts don't reflect an academic future for me.

I am wondering about combined BS/MD programs, and wondering whether they will look at my life experience rather than my lack of high school studies..

Any help will be much appreciated, thanks in advance..

Mike Burnes

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. hey there,
    High school doesn't matter too much, unless you want to do the BS/MD program. If you want to do the program, I think you have to have a really high GPA, and stellar SAT scores. Anyway, you should consider going to community college for 2yrs, then to a state school, and make sure you have really good grades (almost all A's). You have some life experience, and study your ass off for the MCAT...have you considered DO schools? In the meanwhile, you should talk to med schools and ask if you can speak to the admissions as counselors because you're considering medicine in the future...I'm a pre-dental student, so that's the only info I can give you (I know this from friends/family in med school and my parents are doctors)...well, good luck to you [​IMG]

------------------

4. alceria

alceria Senior Member