Combining NP and PA as "medical provider?"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dhsge

Reaction score
I am a nurse practitioner.

I have a lot of PA coworkers who perform the same job. Patients are often confused why "assistants" and "nurses" do the same job. Some patients wish me a luck to become a RN because they think I am "practicing" to become a real nurse! Some people think PAs are medical assistants who take blood pressure and weight.

I think we need to make our titles simpler than what we have now. What are some of the thoughts that you have? I personally think we should be collectively called medical practitioner or medical provider.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a nurse practitioner.

I have a lot of PA coworkers who perform the same job. Patients are often confused why "assistants" and "nurses" do the same job. Some patients wish me a luck to become a RN because they think I am "practicing" to become a real nurse! Some people think PAs are medical assistants who take blood pressure and weight.

I think we need to make our titles simpler than what we have now. What are some of the thoughts that you have? I personally think we should be collectively called medical practitioner or medical provider.