Committee Letter for the Liberal Arts Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cherryblossomsgalore

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am applying for the 2017 cycle and I recently found out that my alma mater has a committee letter, however I was a liberal art double major there. I went to another school for my pre-medical requirements. Should I try to get a committee letter from them? I graduated in 2013.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Doesn't hurt to ask. Check with their advisory office about any special requirements they might have for using their committee letter.

I doubt your major will matter.

Committee letters are for students who have not graduated. You've been out of the school for 3 years presumably off away doing other things. Committee letters are not needed in your case. Get your own letters.

Members don't see this ad :)
Committee letters are for students who have not graduated. You've been out of the school for 3 years presumably off away doing other things. Committee letters are not needed in your case. Get your own letters.

Actually for the past three years, I was getting my requirements done at a college closer to my house. I was also working part-time and going to school part-time. I basically did a 180. Does that make any difference?

This is not true. I contacted several schools and all of them told me that a committee letter was highly preferred. In fact, they all said the best would be if I got two committee letters - one from my undergrad (non science major there) and one from the school where I took my post-bacc classes. I'm only going to end up with the second, since I would have to jump through crazy hoops to get the first. But absolutely, a committee letter is generally preferred. (Obviously it should also include additional letters from outside sources or else send those separately (like from work supervisors, etc).)